top of page
  • Writer's picturebobholmes1

On States & Stages of Spiritual Transformation

With our states and stages of consciousness levels, there is no arrival, no end to our journey in this lifetime.

Awakening Is Not Arrival

We've all had experiences of transcendence. It's part and parcel of being a human being. But most times we see our awakening as arrival, and it is not.

What Are States of Consciousness?

Oh, taste and see...

I see folks get contact highs in worship services and once they're out of that atmosphere, things return back to normal. Many times before they hit the doors.

Without an integration of the experience, nothing really changes.

And so we come to the matter of States and Stages. States are consciousness levels we move into and out of.

Lots of us move into exotic realms when in worship from people oozing with Presence, fully alive in expansive transcendence, but five minutes later we're back into our old miserable selves.

What We Focus On Expands

Let me clue you in on a little secret. We are in the midst of the Age of Transformation and most people haven't a clue because they're looking in the wrong direction in survival mode.

What About Stages of Consciousness?

Stages on the other hand are transcendence states where we dwell for a while. Stages are where we integrate the change of transcendence.

A Scripture that might help you to grasp this is when Jesus says, "Abide in me and I in you for apart from me you can do nothing."

Jesus is talking here about transcendence, integration, and impartation.

Our spiritual practices that can move us into transcendence are endless.

For instance, when our work becomes a meditation we shift consciousness levels and we work as artists.

Meditation is like a vehicle that moves us from one state to another, but we determine the state we're going to.

Note: In Spiritual Practice ~ Meditation is about states, Contemplation is about stages.

I hope this helps a bit.


Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page